Tears as Student Union Leaders Die in Motor Accident; Mimiko Mourns

Sharing is caring!

It was rain of tears in campuses across Ondo state on Saturday following the death of three student union leaders in ghastly motor accident. The Presidents of the Student’ Unions of the Federal University of Technology (FUTA) Akure, Adeyemi College of Education (ACE) Ondo and the Ondo state School of Midwifery, Akure were killed in a tragic motor accident while returning from an event of the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) in Abuja, Nigeria’s federal capital. The accident was said to have occurred at Emure-Ile junction on the way to Akure, Ondo state capital.

 Those killed in the accident are Dapo Awopegba of FUTA and Abiodun Akintola of ACE. The accident also left the at least three student union leaders which include the presidents of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko and Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo in critical condition at the Federal Medical Centre, Owo.

 The student leaders were returning from the Nigerian Outstanding Leadership Award NOLA organised by NANS in Abua in which 10 Distinguished Nigerians were conferred with honour. The governor of Ondo state, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko were among those honoured by NANS. Mimiko was honoured for his exemplary contribution to mass literacy as demonstrated in the last three years of his administration in Ondo state.

Student of the university of Technology, Akure on Saturday protested the incident which claimed the lives of the president of the university’s student union. Dr. Olusegun Mimiko visited the campus to commiserate with the students and as a sign of solidarity over the protest.

 However, politicians are already exploiting the unfortunate deaths of the students to step up smear campaign in Ondo state. While some of the politically-motivated reactions have failed to show sympathy for the unfortunate death of the students in ghastly motor accident, other have mischievously exploited the event which the students were returning to castigate Governor Olusegun Mimiko who was one of the awardees of NANS .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *