Stakeholders Want Lagos Speaker, Obasa Replaced

Sharing is caring!

Months ahead of 2023 general elections, gladiators are already jostling for the Speakership of the 10th session of Lagos State House of Assembly. While the current two term Speaker, Rt. Honourable Mudashiru Obasa is believed to be interested in retaining his seat when he returns for the sixth term in 2023; there are feelers he would be facing formidable opposition from colleagues and vested interest within the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Investigation by NigerianEcho revealed that entrenched interests within the APC in Lagos State who are pushing for possible replacement of the current Speaker are already scheming ahead of May 2023 when Rt. Hon Obasa would have completed second term of 8 years in office as Speaker. The clamour for replacement of Obasa as Speaker of the forthcoming session of Lagos State House of Assembly is said to be a major issue to be taking on board by the leadership of APC in the composition of principal offices of government for the second term of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Considering that some notable current members of the House will not be returning to the hallow chambers having failed to secure nomination for reelection at the primaries, the quest amongst interest groups in the Lagos APC to have the post of the Speakership zoned out of Agege and Lagos West Senatorial District that produced the current Speaker must have begun in earnest. High level consultations are said to be ongoing among stakeholders who are either demanding that the position of Speakership be zoned out of Agege or Lagos West Senatorial District.

While there appears to be disagreement regarding zoning out the Speakership position out of Lagos West Senatorial District out-rightly, NigerianEcho however learnt there is reasonable level of consensus that Agege should no longer produce the Speaker considering that the current occupier, Rt. Hon. Obasa must have held the post for two consecutive terms by May 2023.

While details of possible major contender against the current Speaker remain sketchy at the moment as permutations are ongoing, investigation however revealed that possible contenders amongst current members of the House of Assembly that are likely to be returning in 2023 are Hon. Mojeed Fatai Adebola from Ibeju Lekki Constituency 1, Hon. Tobun Abiodun from Epe Constituency 1 and Hon. Yishawu Gbolahan Rufai from Eti-Osa Constituency 2.

It is not however certain if the current tide of scheming will remain the same after the elections and depending on decisions of the party as well as future occurrences. Notwithstanding, a source hinted NigerianEcho that Hon. Yishawu has the support of Mr. Tayo Ayinde who is the current Chief of Staff to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu

However, it is evident that the current Speaker is interested in retaining the post having shelved his earlier ambition to contest for the Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *