Danjuma to Jonathan: Boko Haram winning insurgency war

Sharing is caring!

Theophilus Danjuma

By Suleiman Bello

Former Nigeria Minister of Defence, General Theophilus Danjuma(Retd), has told President Goodluck Jonathan that at the moment, members of the Boko Haram sect were winning the insurgency war.

Danjuma who stated this while speaking at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Wednesday during the inauguration of the Presidential Committee on the Victims Support Fund by Mr President added that this was evident from the operations of the sect as it chooses when and where to strike and was displacing the military.

According to him, this has made it urgent for a solution to be found to the exploits of the insurgents.

“But seriously, this war needs to be brought to an end.

“We must win this war immediately.

“It is taking too long.

“I called it a civil war when it began.

“People said it was insurgency.

“The insurgents appear to be having an upper hand at this very moment.

“They pick and choose where to strike.

“They are even holding positions and displacing us.

“We must win this war Mr. President.

“We must do so immediately.” He said.

The former defence chief promised on behalf of the committee to do everything possible to raise adequate funds and disburse appropriately to the affected victims.
He said: “We will raise the funds.
“We will disburse it‎.

“I promise you, we will do so diligently and transparently, but we must win this war Mr. President.” He submitted

Earlier in his speech, President Jonathan said, Gen. Danjuma(retd) will have eminent banker, Fola Adeola, as deputy.

Other members of the committee are Alhaji Mohammed Indimi, Alhaji Abdulsamad Rabiu, Alhaji Sani Dauda, Chief Folorunsho Alakija, Cosmas Maduka, Jim Ovia, Wale Tinubu, Mohammed Sani-Sidi (the Director General of the National Emergency Management Agency), Air Vice Marshal Tony Omenyi (representing the Defence Headquarters), Commissioner of Police Salisu Fagge (representing the Nigerian Police Force) and Sayana Yusuf (representing the Department of State Service).

The list also includes: include Chief Uche Secondus (the Deputy National Chairman, South of the Peoples Democratic Party), Alhaji Tijani Tunsah (the Deputy National Chairman, North, of the All Progressives Congress, a representative of the Christian Association of Nigeria, a representative of the Jamaatul Nasril Islam and Chief Nkechi Mba of the National Council of Women Societies, Prof. Ben Angwe (the Executive Secretary of the National Human Rights Commission), representative of the United Nations, representative of the Department for International Development, representative of the Unites States Agency for International
Development, representative of the International Committee of the Red Cross, Alhaji Balarabe Musa (Conference of Nigerian Political Parties) and two representatives of Local Civil Society/Youth Groups (Male and Female).

The Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation would serve as the committee’s secretariat.

Terms of reference of the Committee include; developing appropriate strategies for the fund raising; to ascertain the persons, communities, facilities and economic assets affected by Boko Haram terror activities; assess and determine the appropriate support required in each case; manage, disburse or administer support to the victims as appropriate; address related challenges as may be appropriate; and to advice government on other matter(s) necessary or incidental to support victims of Boko Haram terror activities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *